Sunday, May 24, 2015


Released: 2015
Genre: Alternative
1. Aerial Love
2. We Are Golden
3. By Your Side
4. Preach
5. Too Many
6. Cool On Fire
7. Imagination
8. Dissolve
9. Chained
10. Sleepwalker
11. Faithless
12. Warm Hands
13. Going On 16
14. New York
15. Good Luck

Silverchair's frontman Daniel Johns' new album is finally out - a fusion of R&B, electronic, pop, and a tinge of soul.

Gone are the days of heavy metal, hard rock turned alt-rock, of head-banging riffs and basslines. Johns has been working on a new sound for several years, and Aerial Love, which released in 2014, showcased the fruits of his labour.

There are some D'angelo vibes in this record, even a little Frusciante (check out Preach). Overall, it's a stab into a new genre for Johns, and it's not a bad first attempt, although it isn't anything outstanding or entirely memorable. The production is okay. It's not mind-blowing, and neither is the instrumentation. In fact, I enjoyed the slower, stripped-down ballads more than the faster-paced ones.

Only one thing seems to poke itself out of the gloom, and it's Johns' vocals. It still carries the same weight and styling of the Young Modern era, and it's the only thing that led me to listen through this album.

Overall, the album doesn't feel cohesive enough to me, and I think a reshuffling of tracks is required, at least.

Mentionable tracks include: Aerial Love, Preach, Imagination, New York

DOWNLOAD (320kbps, Israbox)

Saturday, May 23, 2015


Released: 1999
Genre: Rock
1. Sunburn
2. Muscle Museum
3. Filip
4. Falling Down
5. Cave
6. Showbiz
7. Unintended
8. Uno
9. Sober
10. Escape
11. Overdue
12. Hate This & I'll Love You
13. Spiral Static

Going oldschool today - how fucking great is this album?

After all the Drones bullshit singles being released, a whole ton of fans were severely disappointed. Heck, even after The Resistance and The 2nd Law, people were already sharpening their pitchforks. So after all that, I decided it was time to relearn why I loved Muse in the first place.

And what better old stuff to revist from Muse, than Showbiz?

Top tracks: Muscle Museum, Falling Down, Showbiz, Uno.

DOWNLOAD (Includes B-Sides)

Wednesday, May 20, 2015


New Wet, new MV, new spine tingles, new album in a couple months or so.


Sunday, May 17, 2015

The Moth & The Flame - Young & Unafraid

I first took note of this band through reddit, and how large corporate sites were using their video to make petty cash through viral means.

That aside, this band gives me mad Killers vibes, don't you think? Maybe even a tinge of Kings of Leon.

Their upcoming album is going to be great, if this is just a sample of what's to come.

Sunday, May 3, 2015

Choose Your Weapon

"Multi-dimensional polyrhythmic gangster shit"

Released: 2015
Genre: Soul/Alternative/R&B/Jazz/Everything in between
1. Choose Your Weapon
2. Shaolin Monk Motherfunk
3. Laputa
4. Creations Part One
5. Borderline with My Atoms
6. Breathing Underwater
7. Cicada
8. Swamp Thing
9. Fingerprints
10. Jekyll
11. Prince Minikid
12. Atari
13. By Fire
14. Creations Part Two
15. The Lung
16. Only Time All the Time
17. Molasses
18. Building A Ladder

It's been 3 long years since Hiatus Kaiyote put out a new record, was it worth the wait?

The answer is a resounding yes.

I'm not very sure how to describe this album in comparison to Tawk Tomahawk, both are similar in style, yet Choose Your Weapon seems to display how the band has grown and matured as a whole, in addition to solidifying their musical direction and sound. You can find a bit of everything in this record - groove, P-funk, jazz, swing, latin-styled beats and even 8-bit samples.

Even though the spotlight is mainly on Nai Palm and her sultry vocals, shoutouts really have to go to Perrin Moss, the band's drummer, who really manages to tie everything together. The time signature changes in this album mid-song are insane, and Moss' skill really shines through and forms the concrete which holds this quartet together. Simon Marvin fills in all the gaps with the keys along with Paul Bender on bass. For proof - check out Atari.

Don't shuffle this album - it's a journey that's meant to be started and finished from top to bottom. Every track has been carefully slotted in its position for a reason. Take your time listening through this amazing collection of music, the second runthrough will be even better.

BUY (iTunes)

Noteworthy tracks: 1 - 18